Part 58 – Yasmeen the Therapist

As if my day could get any more entertaining, somehow I was roped into being Uzair’s therapist.

It was the Bobats’ final night in Dubai and we all went out for one last supper and dessert outing. Fatimah and her family were there too so at least my parents felt comfortable enough to let me tag along. The adults sat inside the restaurant whilst the rest of us sat outside, enjoying the winter breeze.

UZAIR: You have a minute? 

He appeared from behind, giving me a shock. 

ME: Yeah, what’s up? 

He lowered his voice and pulled up a chair so that nobody else could hear him. 

UZAIR: I need- advice. 

I smiled and raised my eyebrows. 

ME: What did you do now?

UZAIR: I didn’t do anything! 

I laughed. 

ME: So what can I help you with?

He sighed. 

UZAIR: Well… I have a question. 

ME: Shoot

UZAIR: You know that guy Zaheer Mohamed?

I scrunched up my face, confused at where this conversation was heading. 

ME: Aha, yes.

UZAIR: Were you childhood friends?

I nodded my head. 

ME: Yep, we were. 

UZAIR: And how close would you say you two were?

I pulled a face.

ME: Uzair, why are you quizzing me about Zaheer? 

UZAIR: First answer the question… please. How close were you?

ME: I mean… we were close as children. He has a picture of us as kids framed in his room. 

Uzair: Wow, really!

That last sentence did not mean to slip out of my mouth. Why did I say that. 

ME: Yeah but it doesn’t matter. Why are you asking me this? 

UZAIR: Patience young grasshopper. 

I rolled my eyes. 

UZAIR: So, Zaheer is your childhood friend and you meet him after many many years. What was it like? 

Oh. I could see where this was going…

ME: It was… different. It’s like you’re meeting someone for the first time but you know all these things about them that you wouldn’t know about a stranger. It can go one of two ways.

UZAIR: How so?

ME: Because people change and sometimes you change so much that you just… don’t have anything in common or you don’t have similar values or lifestyles. Other times you change but that childhood bond remains.

UZAIR: So what happened with you and Zaheer?

ME: I mean… I think we both changed a lot. We don’t really have much in common.

UZAIR: Wouldn’t it have just been better to not meet him after all these years? Then the good memories would be preserved. 

I raised an eyebrow. He kept using Zaheer as an example but clearly he was thinking about his own scenario, his own childhood friend: Yasmin.

ME: Uzair, are you scared that you and Yasmin won’t have anything in common? 

He blushed.

UZAIR: I wasn’t talking about m-

ME: Yes, you are. You wanted my advice so be honest. 

He stuttered a bit before finally forming a sentence.

UZAIR: I really don’t know. I have these perfect memories of her and its just- its so unfair to compare someone to those memories because thats the past and this is the present.

I nodded my head but as I did, alarm bells went off.

ME: I have to be honest with you Uzair… I don’t know what you’re thinking. I don’t know anything about your history with Yasmin. But what I do know is… you were this close to introducing Yumna to your parents and that was only a month ago. Isn’t it a bit soon to-

UZAIR: I’m not saying I want to marry Yasmin. 

I narrowed my eyes and gave him a questioning look. 

ME: Really, Uzair? There’s no part of you that’s having this conversation with me because you want to know if you and Yasmin are compatible? 

He opened his mouth to speak but said nothing.

ME: I’m just saying… take some time. Take a step back. Think about what you really want in a woman and a partner. 

UZAIR: If this Yumna drama taught me anything, it taught me what I don’t want in a partner. 

I laughed. 

ME: You clearly see something deeper than a friendship with Yasmin if you’re questioning her values.

UZAIR: Shh… keep your voice down. 

ME: I’m right, aren’t I?

He sighed. 

UZAIR: Maybe… I don’t know if it’s the shock of seeing her after so many years or the fact that she’s become a… woman. Or if it’s just because she feels familiar. 

I bit my lip trying to hide the smile that wanted to appear so badly. 

ME: I get that… I respect that. 

UZAIR: Do you think I’m rushing into this?

ME: I think you should just make sure you have thought everything through. Don’t rush. Don’t jump. It’s easy to get caught up in the perfect memories of a person but… make sure they are compatible with your present and your future. 

Uzair nodded his head. 

UZAIR: And what about you? 

ME: What about me? 

UZAIR: Does Zaheer fit into your present and future?

I scoffed.

ME: Oh goodness, no. That is so not on my radar. 

UZAIR: Not even a little bit?

ME: No. I’m more focused on avoiding all that drama. Boys… men… dating… it’s just a recipe for disaster.

UZAIR: When the time is right-

ME: Yes yes, when the time is right it will all fall into place but that time is not now. I am eighteen. I have time… and so do you so please don’t rush into anything. Yasmin seems like a wonderful girl and maybe she is the girl for you or maybe she’s not. But don’t try and mould her into the old version you have stored in your memories because you both have grown up.

Uzair nodded his head, remaining silent for a moment before he thanked me for my input. I hoped I hadn’t overstepped in my words of advice.

30 thoughts on “Part 58 – Yasmeen the Therapist

  1. Maryam says:

    OMG!!!! Yayyyyyyyy!!!! Derz gona b a wedding… *dancing face* im soooooo hapy4 Fayaan! thx4soooooo much4d luvly post. Was great gettin in2 fatoo’s head. Pls post again soon. ∕Ɩ∕Ɩω∂H

  2. Faaiza says:

    “He asked… She said ‘Yes!’ 😉 ” awwwwwwwhhhh 😀 I can hear wedding bells *happy dance* OMG!!! Fayaan is getting married!!!!!!!! (**,)

    *waiting for it to sink in* OMG!! OMG!! OMG!! FAYAAN IS GETTING MARRIED!!!!!! 😀 *jumps up & down* woooohhooooo 😀 and Zayaan is right, its best to do things the halaal way 😉 there’s just no point in dating :/
    Oooohh Zayaan is sticking to his word, I see 😉 he promised he’ll never break our Fati Patati’s heart, and he didn’t… 😀

    Ahahahahahahahahahaha Fati actually made a pro & con list of getting married to Zayaan 😮 *cant watch* she’s just too cute 😛 can’t wait to see Yas’s reaction when Fati tells her bout all of this! 😉

    Ms Authorness, this was such an ‘awwwwhh’ post 🙂 😛 Jazakallah for making my morning 😉 can’t wait for the next post!!! 😀 😉

  3. sam says:

    Awwww ths is sooo sweet!!! N I admire Zayaan fr not wntn t b a hypocrite o lyk othr guys n jus ditch their gf’s n go fr a samoosa run! Kewl post!

  4. ...... says:

    Hey ms authorness u knw u said that their wud be till part 90 so how is it gonna wrk like are we gonna get extra loooooonnnngggg posts or are u gonna give us more then 90 posts or wats gonna happen😳

    • dubain01 says:

      Okay, so every 30 posts are equal to one season get it?
      so the 90th post will mark the end of season 3 🙂 and then i will be taking a loooooooong break (no arguments) The posts will be normal sized, but maybe the last 2 posts (89 and 90) will be extra long. But we’ll see 🙂 xoxo Hope that helps you x

  5. Fan! says:

    Awwwww Fati is Zayaans Jaaan 😛 Wedding Bells are ringing 😉 To soon the start sewing my outfit??? 🙂 I can’t wait to start Yas and Taariqs wedding plans 😛 Mwahaha

    Ms DD ♡ Awesome Awesome Post! Can’t w8 for part 86 at midnight 😛 😀 Just teasing… Love U Habibati ♡

    • dubain01 says:

      You bettz be teasing 😉 My hectic scheduale….although you can always come and help me out fan 😛 You can travel in a cute brown box and come be my PA 😀 xxo

  6. cuteness* says:

    love the blog to infinity and back…………. it rocks totes…
    ms. authorness I think its time u reveal your true self……..
    you are too talented to be kept a secret…..
    all the little clues and hints thrown around are really not enough!
    much love …. DOAD and ms. authorness

  7. ¤ $k¥ ¤ says:

    huh uh, screw da pros n cons list. Fatima shud be READING ISTIKHAARA NAMAAZ!

    Wen it cumz to marriage, heed dis advice all u young blossoms, read istikhaara 1st, not last!

    And dont b foold by petty tings lyk gud luks, n pretty genes leading to pretty kids…. Dats bull!

    Dont evn marry for LOVE! Dats a delusion… marry the one with da best character, da 1 who treasures his deen n values people, not wealth.

    I fear 4 fati patati…. Marriage aynt a game of candy crush….

    Save her Miss D! Save our fati 4rm makn a huge mistake! *sobbing in despair

  8. sm says:

    I dont know who u posed the questıon to on wether dubaın should end . As much as ı love readıng your blog the story has to , come to an end at some poınt. ıt just cnt contınue otherwıse ıt wıll end up lıke days of our lıves lol ! Endıng ıt not a bad ıdea but not just yet perhaps make yasmeen fınısh school allow her to be an adult perhaps ın her earlı twentıes ! Ofcors all these should be fast forwaded . Lıke 5years later when shes completıng varsıty. . . EndleSs posıbılıtıes to endıng the story . . .

Leave a comment