Part 43 – Mothers Know Best

Out of all the girls in my year, Ashley was the one I somehow clicked with the most. We became fast friends even though we were very different.

So when school stress started to weigh on me and I decided I needed to reboot my mind, she was the person I invited along. We didn’t make any major plans; we bought pizza and sat on the beach, soaking up the cool Dubai air. 

Whenever I had new friends in my life, my mother would ask a million questions and Ashley was no exception.

MUM: Who are you meeting?

ME: A girl from school, Ashley.

MUM: You’ve never mentioned her before?

ME: Have I not? Well, she’s really nice.

MUM: As long as she’s good company… I don’t want you falling in with the wrong crowd at school Yasmeen.

I smiled.

ME: Trust me Mummy, Ashley is the head of the charity committee. She’s really nice. 

MUM: Where is she from?

ME: Well, she’s half American and half Iranian.

MUM: Oh, interesting.

And that was the last question my mother asked before I headed out to meet my ‘very nice’ friend. I told Ashley about the interrogation and she laughed. 

ASHLEY: Dude, I can relate to that 100%. My mum does the same thing. She is so protective over my sister and me. 

ME: You have a sister? I didn’t know. 

ASHLEY: Mhmm, she’s a few years younger than me but she goes to a different school. Don’t you have a brother?

I nodded my head.

ASHLEY: I always see Zaheer talking to him and I never realised it was your brother. 

ME: Oh god. That worries me. Zaheer teaches him everything I don’t want him to learn. 

I went on to tell Ashley about the many times Zaheer passed on ‘wisdom’ to Armaan. 

ME: Ash, I have a question, a bit of an awkward one.

ASHLEY: I think I know what it is…

I smiled. I will admit, my transition from conversation to question was not smooth. 

ME: Were you and Zaheer… ever more than friends?

ASHLEY: I could understand why you’d think that. Zee is very friendly in his ways but no, we have never crossed that line. Why do you ask?

ME: Because when I first met you, I had the impression that something was going on and well… let’s just say, I judged you and Zaheer all wrong and I’m sorry for that. 

ASHLEY: Girl, it’s fine. If anything, I should be asking if there’s anything going on between you?

I nearly spat out my pizza.

ME: Me! 

ASHLEY: Yes, you!

ME: No! Goodness, no. Never. I don’t- I avoid getting involved with guys in any capacity. 

ASHLEY: Really?

ME: Yeah, I have no inclination towards it… There are also religious reasons so I find it better to try and stay away from all that drama. 

ASHLEY: I respect that. My mum has pretty strict rules about dating too, more because she doesn’t want us to be taken advantage of and she doesn’t want us to lose focus from our studies. 

ME: Your Mum is a smart woman. 

ASHLEY: Ain’t she? I never fully understand her logic behind the rules she has… but-

ME: Mothers know best? 

ASHLEY: Whether we like to admit it or not, they really do. 

Soon, our pizza was finished and our lungs were filled with salty beach air. And right on time, my mother appeared. 

ME: Do you want a ride home?

ASHLEY: No that’s fine, I’ll take a taxi.

ME: My mum won’t mind, seriously. Just hop in. Where do you live?

ASHLEY: JBR

ME: No way! You mean that place with all the restaurants by the beach? That’s so nice.

MUM: How long have you been in Dubai for Ashley?

ASHLEY: This is actually my second year, so I know what it feels like to be new.

MUM: Tell me about it. Driving on the other side of the road is so hard.

And then my mother and Ashley were talking about where Ashley used to live before Dubai, her studies and future career.

We neared JBR and soon, Ashley was getting out the car and bidding us farewell.

MUM: She’s nice.

ME: Two words. That’s it?

My mother looked at me with narrowed eyes.

MUM: Fine! She is very nice. Four words, keep the change.

I rolled my eyes, and laughed. My mother.

 

77 thoughts on “Part 43 – Mothers Know Best

  1. anon says:

    Never read it yet but thank you so much for part 53,I know it’s gonna be awesome,I hope I’m the first one to comment *suspense*

  2. dubain01 says:

    hahahaha 😛 Glad I could make your night how you have made mines sooo many times 😉 Making me laugh at all the absolutely ludicrous stuff you talk about 😛 Love youu too the stars and back baabes 🙂 xoxo

  3. Saadz says:

    AwwwWwwwwwWw yas took faatiz advice !! =P lol she soooo cudnt mope around all day checkn up on uzi x_x..lol and to what a level she took her advice !! :O she happened to take ashley out !! *laughing*…lol lol and sooo cuuUuute Zah only tied himself down with Yas *eyelashes*…seemz like our Zah was alil heaetbreaker =P…lol and Zah and Yass are tooOoo cute!! *dancing*..lol lol and Yas’s mum!! *laughing*… “4 words n keep the change”…hahahha toooo cute!!! *dancing*…lol lol can’t wait to see where Zah has planned for Yas tomorrow !! *excited*

    Lol thanxxXxx our gorgeous author for thee post !! *dancing*…we know u love us eno0ough to post tomorrow also *eyelashes* lmao jokes !! Haahaha…I was the first to start commentn bt I know by the time I’m done here I’ll be waaay down the line *cant watch* *laughing*…but still proud I was first to START leaving a reply !! *rofl*…xoxox

    • dubain01 says:

      You are absolutely most welcome my young grasshopper 😀
      Havn’t spoken to you in a while 😛
      hahahahaha 😉 You’re third so you get bronze my daaarling *yay saaaadz* 🙂 xoxo

      • Saadz says:

        YessSss has beeen looong x_X thort my gorgeous auhor forgot all about me *crying* =P jokes !! *hugs*…lol awwwww bronze is goood =D I’m moooving up !! *dancing* …lmao ….aaaAaaand I’m aaLwayS heEreeE authorness *wink*…much love ! *hugs*

  4. dubain01 says:

    So I’m going to leave all of you peoples to read, comment and hopefully enjoy this post 🙂 Will try replying to all comments tomorrow
    Follow on twitter @diaryofadubain
    Much Love
    Until tomorrow
    DOAD xoxo ♥

  5. saffiyya says:

    AWSEOME!!!! cul so she n ashley fwends nw lol
    cnt wait fr tomorrow as in tomorrow in real lyf n in da blog cz tomorrw in da blg shes gona b wit zaheer awww n tomorow in real lyf n new pst ooooooorrrrrr r we gettin a midnyt pst???*wink wink*

    • dubain01 says:

      Go to CPK’s yes yes it does exist 😛 Dunno if pesto is your kinda hing though 😛 If it yes then just try EVERYTHING on the menu 😉 Love that place 🙂 xoxo

  6. FattyPoo says:

    Yaaaaay ……thanks so much for this awesome post ……..you really are the best human being on earth 😉 …….

    xoxo
    FattyPoo …

    • Faaiza says:

      Lmao haaj!!! And similar comment as well 😛
      Haaj I think if u have to shorten ur comments, most people here wouldn’t like it… Its not u! So I say stick to ur awesome, fun, exciting long comments! 😀 we look forward to it 😀

    • Saadz says:

      Lol Haaj I said it on r101 n I’ll say it here too….I Lo0o0ve uUur lo0ong comments! *dancing*…they so funny and entertaining and many ppl enjoy it ! Wo0oho0o keep it up n dnt shorten them! *wink* *hugs*

    • Shakoo says:

      Haaj no u can’t shorten ur long comments x_x….to us they don’t sound silly!o_o they sound awEsome!!*wink*… Faa I think that will happen if Haaj shortens her comments x_x..
      Yes Saadz we really do loOoove Haaj’s comments*dancing**hugs*
      U shud try skipping it!

    • Faaiza says:

      I agree amina 🙂 I think if Ms Authorness has no issue with the long comments, then why should we?

      If u don’t like it, tough luck! Ignore the comment & read only the short comments then.. 🙂 nobody is forced to read any long comments 🙂

      Ms Authorness, if u not happy with our long comments, let us know, we’ll gladly shorten it only for u 😉

  7. Amz... says:

    Heey!! Amazing post!! I think that mr.T’s name is imraan. *fingers crossed* and the authors name starts with Yas.. Or Tas… ??
    Hope I’m right 😀

  8. Amz... says:

    Nice to meet you too 🙂
    Are we getting a post today??!

    Am I right thou? Coz he did say he has 6 alpahbets it has 2 A’s and it ends in an N! :Ð

    Can’t wait for next post :/

    • dubain01 says:

      Theres like 100 names that have 2 a’s and an N at the end….look on the other comments..all those names fit the bill 😛
      but my lips are sealed 😀
      hahaha noopez next post is tomorrow

  9. #RAMAANI!# says:

    It’s been sooooooo long since I commented last*crying* I’m still reading n really really enjoying the blog and the comments*smiling* have been really busy…..but just coz I’m out of sight doesn’t mean DD is outta mind*hugs*Haaj…..your comments are fantabulous and hilarious*makes my day* MR T……your comments are my ray of sunshine….lol…not really…but to know that there’s other super cool people on this planet….and the rest of DD family….really missed you guys….mrs Authorness..keep up the goooooood work*love you lots* can’t wait for the next post*super excited* #team Zah……Uzzi is still super sweet…but why this Yumna chick*crying*but shame he has to move on at some point……Fayaan*adorable*they are soooo cute……Fatis growing up* tear..tear* sowi bout the super long comment I just have ALOT of catching up to do…….*lots of love and hugs*

  10. rediscovery57 says:

    heyy, no break please 😦 sorry lol I understand thou :p it’s just that I shall have no motivation to write if I don’t get my daily dose! and that will be tragic 😦 lol sorry I have a tendency to be a bit dramatic at times 😀

  11. Lee says:

    Ms authorness guess wat !!!!! I fiinally got wat I wanted …. I’m eating BUTTERED POPCORN rite now ​ℓ☺ℓ !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀 *dancing* :p

    • Faaiza says:

      OMG!!! Look who has graced us with his presence!!! 😉

      Smally bro, I see ur back! *happy dance* yea where where u dude?? (O_O)

      Haaj needed saving and u weren’t here to save her 😦 *heartbroken* how could u just launch us like that? 😦

    • Faaiza says:

      Awwwwhh its ok 🙂 we understand 🙂

      But wait, did u take some of the DOAD family members with u? :/ till now we’re only on like 80 something comments 😮 that’s NOT normal for this blog!

      Best of luck with whatever it is that u need to do 🙂 In Sha Allah it goes well 🙂

    • Faaiza says:

      Aaawwwhhh I’ll always be here for u haaj 🙂 *big hug* mwah..

      Lol ya I also got a feeling maybe he’s busy with studies! But I think they write in december, just before their christmas holidays :/ I could be wrong thou! Lmao I know waaaayy too much bout UK students 😛

      Hahahahahaha haaj u think he found out bout our curfew as well?? Well its still early for his curfew coz its only like 10pm there 😉

    • Faaiza says:

      OMG!!! 😮 he just called me big sis!! 😮 lmao ok so that was a lil over dramatic *laughing* gosh I suddenly feel old :/
      Uh & don’t call me faaiza lol it sounds so serious lmao 😉

      Smally bro, u said it urself! I’m the big sis & that makes ME the boss 😉 so if I say there’s a curfew, then u gotta listen to me 😛

    • Faaiza says:

      Lmao haaj, don’t be jealous coz I know too much bout the UK…
      Mr T & I will teach u ok 😛 then Mr T will find u a haaro poiro from there & u can join me in settling down in the UK (gotta pretend like I accept the Zahmeez story before haaj goes into brackets lmao :P)

      Noooo haaj, I dowanna go freeze in the snow! I like the summer *happy dance* so I’m staying in SA for holidays 😀

    • Faaiza says:

      Oooooohhh a snow wedding sounds awesome haaj!! *in love* *dreamy* but then I’ll freeze in my wedding dress! 😮 and winter weddings aren’t nice *cant watch*

      Lol I wonder if Mr T stays close by to where Zahmeez stays or not? *thinking* and Mr T won’t tell where exactly he stays coz we can’t have the public knowing where in the UK Mr T stays 😛

      I’ll never forget u haaj!! 😮 u & our uhm, our “little BA group” 😉 u know what I mean *hint hint*

    • Faaiza says:

      Lmao lmao haaj!!!! *laughing so hard with tears in my eyes* u wish!!

      There’s no wedding in december, no wedding gown yet, nothing major is happening in december! 😛
      Lol haaj u gonna get the DOAD family members happy for nothing! Remember the chick who commented on r101? She thought u girls were serious lmao! 😉

      Nooooo I’ll never ever forget u’s! 😮 how can u assume I’d forget u!! (Oh the hurt! *heartbroken* & ya I’m gone into brackets now) 😛

    • Faaiza says:

      Lmao!! Haaj here’s an idea ok? If u ever experience problems in ur current profession, then u can turn to planning weddings & matchmaking 😉 u’ll earn loads! 😛
      Lol yaaaa that chick & I’m sure there’s many others here like her, who take our comments waaayyy too seriously 😉 (so to clarify to the rest, no I’m really not getting married) before people start congratulating me lmao!! 😀

      Shame leave their accent alone ok, I like it now get over it 😛 how did we end up on the topic of my zahmeez AGAIN ?? (O_O)

      Ms Authorness gonna say we’re beyond crazy! *laughing*

    • Faaiza says:

      Lol lol!! I confessed no such thing haaj! 😉 U probably dreamt up my “confession” coz u & ‘my minions’ are sooooo obsessed with my wedding plans lmao 😛

      Hahahahaha ya I LOVE the brit accent! Its awesome *dancing* u girls are always on my case lol & u’s won’t rest till the day I really do get married!! 😛

      Wait, u’s even planned my honeymoon outfits??!!! (O_O) this is news to me! 😮

    • Faaiza says:

      Lmao lmao!! I’m tryna picture this silver top with “I love Zahmeez” on it! *laughing* haaj u so creative at this part of the night… Well its morning now 😛 lmao!!

      Lol and nope, u not getting no voice note! Dunno what u’ll make me say (most likely things that I don’t mean! 😮 ) lol!!

      Time to call it a night now haaj! 😉 so good night, sweet dreams, sleep tight.. U don’t forget to read ur ‘favourite kalimah’ lol and duas 😉 mwah… *beeeeegg bear hugs*

    • Shakoo says:

      Lmao! Faai I am also aware of ur confession!*dancing*….Snow wedding?! Wow, Faai u can’t say no to that!LoL x_x ……NoO u won’t freeze*laughing*, u wonder if Mr T stays close 2 ZahmeeZ? What if they neighbours!=))
      Yeah Haaj it will be real this December!#WeddingTime *dancing* *excited*…
      Yep Faai ur 3days honeymoon is planned already!
      Faai u can’t reject our honeymoon and wedding plans we hav for u! </3…*sobbing* *heart broken*
      We not obsessed with ur wedding and honeymoon, we doing it coz we love u! (Hw can u Faai! </3)=))…….NoO we can't rest till u get married, we made it our duty 2 see u get married and soon! *dancing*
      He even bought himself a gti coz we told him u love gti's and he's matching the rocket!*smirk*
      Yep ur outfits are pretty cool! Infact its not cool its awesome!.we sorted it all out, ryt down to matching ur socks with your outfit x_x ….I smell lindt coming our way!*dancing* *droool*
      The silver top with 'I love ZahmeeZ' sounds cool!:P and the long awaited voice note:P
      Yep let's call it a night!:D
      *we reached our target of a 100 comments! *dancing*….. I feel honoured, *jokes*
      Goodnyt, sweet dreams and yep dnt 4get to read ur'lls kalima's(Faai read ur fav 1's, u'll fall asleep faster, like u always do;;)…!) =))… and sleeping duas:P
      Love u's, *hugs* xoxo…

    • Faaiza says:

      Lol awwww Ms Authorness 😀 we feel honoured to have filled ur notifications with our precious names!
      Lmao ok jokes, I’m not conceited! 😉

      Hahahaha Ms Authorness, I hope our silly comments made u smile or laugh 😛 u see, haaj & couldn’t understand why everyone was so quiet on this post? (O_O) so we decided to liven it up alil 😉 hit our 100 comments mark 😛

Leave a comment