Part 57 – Class Is In Session

Have you ever wondered about life?

Specifically, how unpredictable it is.

You never know where you’re going to end up and you never know who is going to be a supporter.

It’s kind of daunting to make friends if you think about it like that. To trust people, let them get to know you and your family only for them to completely ice you out or break that trust.

These are the questions that popped into my head during my first week back at school.

It was all because I kept bumping into Zaheer. He was unavoidable. Every time I rounded a corner, he would be standing there, talking to someone or engrossed in a textbook. I would walk past him really quickly to avoid any awkward interaction.

It was strange to think that only a few months ago he had been so concerned about my maths grade and now we had no idea what was going on in each other’s lives.

Well, that wasn’t entirely true. I was kept in the loop of all his family updates through Aaliya, who I saw every few weeks. I knew where they had travelled to and what they did on their weekends. I knew more than I would have liked to know but I never stopped Aaliya from talking about her brother.

Snapping me out of my train of thought, Lia sided up to me. The bell had just rang, signalling the end of school.

LIA: How is winter break over already? I need another holiday.

I smiled, totally agreeing.

LIA: School was stressful enough but now we have to write personal statements and make life changing decisions and decide what our futures are going to be and-

ME: Woah girl, take a breath. If you start spiralling, you’ll get nowhere.

LIA: There’s so much to think about! So many decisions to make.

ME: Well, do you know what you want to do?

Lia gave me a deadpan look as if I had asked the most ridiculous question.

LIA: Of course I don’t know what I want to do! I’m eighteen! Whoever decided that we should be allowed to make decisions at eighteen was seriously misguided.

I rolled my eyes but laughed. Lia was comical.

ME: If it makes you feel any better, I have no clue either.

LIA: Great! So we can be clueless together.

ME: Why are you even stressing about this now? We only have to apply next year in year thirteen?

LIA: Yes… but you can get into a lot of American universities with just year twelve.

ME: So, that’s your plan?

LIA: Yeah girl, I want out of this place.

I raised an eyebrow.

ME: But- you love it here. I mean, I thought you got along with everyone.

Lia sighed and leaned against her locker.

LIA: I do but… between you and me, our high school can be so childish. I mean, take everything that happened with Ashley and Zaheer. They just iced you out for no reason and everyone was expected to do the same. And for what? Because Ashley was insecure about your friendship with Zaheer.

Well, this was news to me.

LIA: But it’s more than that. I’m ready to leave high school. I’m ready for a change of scenery and place. You’re the only person I’ve told this to so…

ME: I got it. I won’t tell a soul.

Lia smiled.

ME: So, where do you want to move to?

LIA: America for sure. I used to live there so it feels natural to go back.

ME: Must be nice to have options.

LIA: What do you mean?

ME: I mean- it’s different for me. My parents want me to be independent and have a good education. They want me to be able to stand on my own two feet but… there are limits, justified limits.

LIA: Justified limits?

ME: Yeah… Um- how do I explain this? It’s based on religious beliefs, in essence. And you accept and respect it because… that’s what having faith is all about.

Lia nodded her head.

ME: I didn’t mean to preach-

LIA: No no, by all means. Everyone’s entitled to their own religious beliefs. Imagine how surface level our lives would be if we had no faith. I mean, I’m Hindu. I might not be the holiest Hindu but faith is still something that’s important to me.

ME: Yeah so, you get it then? It’s about balancing the options I have. I want to get a degree. My parents will support me but I won’t be able to travel to America by myself like you can.

LIA: So, what options will you have?

I shrugged my shoulders. I honestly didn’t know.

My parents and I had not yet had the conversation about my future but I felt like now was good a time as any to ask them what my options were, so I could prepare myself.

It felt strange to talk to Fatimah and Lia who were both already focused on the next phase in their life: higher education. Life beyond high school. It was daunting but exciting. I was happy for them

Just as I was about to say goodbye to Lia, Zaheer walked up to us. He looked at me. I looked away.

ZAHEER: Lia, Ms. Cooper was looking for you.

LIA: Oh shoot! I was supposed to see her! Crap, I’ll see you tomorrow Yaz. And remember…

She held a finger to her lips and I assured her that my lips were sealed. I grabbed my bag from my locker expecting Zaheer to have left but when I turned around, he was still there.

ZAHEER: I asked, how was your break?

ME: Oh- It was fine.

An awkward pause.

ME: I have to go.

Zaheer nodded his head and then did something out of character; he gave me a small wave as I turned around and exited the building.

I was convinced: Boys were from Mars.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is tumblr_inline_ovp6y8zKQd1t0eyx3_540.jpg

52 thoughts on “Part 57 – Class Is In Session

  1. mariam says:

    Aaargh!! No more #teamuzzi!! У is zaH being so swEet? Hopefully we’ll find out on post 88. Anyway I hope Tariq likes Ʊ yasmeen I mean his cute,& Duh he loves Ʊ !!!! 🙂

    GREAT POST UR AUTHORNESS! *thumbs up*

  2. Faaiza says:

    Ugh Zah just makes me sick! *not interested* I mean seriously, he ignores Yas at first, and now all of a sudden he wants to be on talking terms with her?? 😮
    Not on dude!!! *talk to the hand*
    Hmmm I get a feeling that things between Ashley & Zah are over? I could be wrong thou :/ *i dunno*

    And why was Zah staring at Yas’s chest?? 😐 Astaghfirullah Zah! 😮 Lower ur gaze bro! *shows Zah big eyes* he’s a complete idiot! If he’s regretting leaving Yas, then its good! He can live with that regret for his entire life *rolls eyes* stupid boy *not interested*

    Ooooohhh Taariq (**,) he finally pronounced Yas’s name correctly 😀 lmao!! 😛
    At least he’s got a heart, right? 😉

    Lmao Uzzi in a taxi!! 😛 hahahahahaha! 😉 ay only Uzzi 😉
    Hmmmm so Uzzi wants to spend time with YasmEEn but he’s actually in love with YasmIn…. *sigh*
    And our Yas is crazy!! 😮 how can she be happy bout Uzzi & YasmIn??? 😮 😦 ok but then again Uzzi also deserves to be happy and if YasmIn makes him happy, then so be it, right? 😐

    Wonder when our YasmEEn will get her happy ending? 😦 and with WHO??? 😉 hopefully its with Taariq (**,) or maybe there’s another twist in the story? Or we get introduced to a new character?? 😀
    Oooooohhh this just gets more better & more exciting with each post 😀 😉

    Jazakallah Ms Authorness for the awesome, fantabulous post, as usual 😉

  3. ...... says:

    Loved theeeee post ….and I still have HOPE that uzzi and yas are together for eternity and
    YasmIn cheats on him when she’s in joburg since that’s where the cheating game is (zaheer) and my uzzi and yas couple unite

    Fingers crossed for my wishes and desires

  4. Lee says:

    Amazing post Ms Authorness . I’m still upset with Uzair … How can he L♥√ع YasmIn more than YasmEEn 😦 . And why is Zah trying to be sweet to Yas coz its not really working

  5. faiza says:

    Hmmmm yas is taking it very well. Better than me 😀
    I hope YASMIN ends up telling uzzi that she is engaged to some1 in america or date him for a while and then kick him in the butt. Yes I’m mean much *speak to the hand uzzi*

    And as for zah I think his regretting what he did to yas. Still she shouldn’t let him get away very easily.

    Oh oh oh and I hope uzzi sees yas wit tar and tar must be all over her then I’m sure ihis gonna be jealous much 😛

  6. ...... says:

    Wat happened when uzzi had that whole u might be the girl and she was in his arms and all that in the previous post so wat did she say after that at the mall 😶

  7. weirdyetperfect02 says:

    Uzair is completely out of the pic so I think yasmeen and zaheer should end up 2gether, yasmeen is the best and even though tariq is in the pic he just doesn’t seem right , yasmeen and zaheer should be together I even came up with a nickname zaheem (3 letters from each name) so miss author plz plz make it so that they end up 2gether I beg of u !!!

  8. sam says:

    I tnk Uzzi luvs Yasmin Too!!! N soo happy for him*dancn*

    N Zaheer n is jus usn o twkn t Yasmeen t mke ashley jealous!looser!!!!

  9. silentliving says:

    I don’t know why but I feel really sad for yasmeen. She’s always so nice and so good to everyone and here she is with no-one…everyones ditching her for sumone else..:((

    Keep up the excellent work dear

  10. miss N says:

    Aww I feel for my yas yas, she cnt even luk 4ward to skwl. Wens the next post? Pwetty plwzzzzzz, with a cherry ontop. Post tonyt. 🙂

  11. Zax says:

    Awww! Yasmeen is so sweet and has such a clean heart. :). She likes Yasmin and wants Uzzi and Yasmin 2 b together 😀
    Zaheer…..1 min hot and the next min cold……he’s just too confusing! :/

  12. *shopaholic* says:

    I think yas handled zah pretty well! They were bound to bump into one another. As for uzair and Yasmin..I don’t really like them together but they make the story interesting. I LOVE DRAMA!

  13. bibi ahmed says:

    Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
    Uzzi is meant to be Yasmeens knight in shining amour..
    Forever and ever and ever
    I hope they realize that they are meant for each other.. And soon

    Zah is such a put off
    And I’m not to fond of Tar
    Some 1 should introduce him to Yasmin
    Lolzzzzzzz

  14. fatz says:

    Noooo!!!! Yasmeen n uzair have to be togather…..i’m so sad, how is she allowing this??? I know this is wat she wants, but how?
    I don’t like yasmin, she disappears for 6 yrs, and Uzi ‘think’ he still loves her? ! Nonsense!
    This is not happening. 😦

  15. sm says:

    Proud of yasmeen ! Lıke the class story ! I just hope yasmeen ısnt puttıng up a brave face up for every1 and ınfact ıs genuınly happy !

  16. Fb says:

    I really thought that Yasmin with an ‘I’ was the Joburg Girl, from Yasmeen’s “puking” reaction in 86. And she was going to run to Uzzi and tell him she’s the girl from the photo with Zaheer and he will play Mr Right once again only this time with Yas not Nuha😔but good story. Keeping me reading😉

  17. Fan! says:

    Drama Drama Drama! 😮 This is getting FonCusing…. Who must I Be??? #TeamTaariq??? #TeamUzzi??? #TeamZaheer???

    Uzzis love from the past came and NOW he getting bees in his stomach for yasmIn 😮 … Zaheer acted like he ddnt care so why he caring now? 😮 Taariq too good to be true? 😮

      • Fan! says:

        Mwahaha Bees its a mixed emotion reaction. . . . Lol he is liking YasmIn but if he sees YasmEEn with another guy we gonna get jealous.. Boys! Waste of Time ey 😉 hahahaha Ms DD shhhhhhhhhh 😛

  18. Daisy says:

    Hey,awseome as always….just gets bettet #keepitup
    Does any1hve the link of the blog,i think its called something about denial plz? TIA

  19. ¤ $k¥ ¤ says:

    no no no! When dat scumbag zaheer made a cheezy attempt to tawk to yasmeen, her reply shuda been “what do u care?! Piss off, i dont want da smell of ur scum polluting da air dat i breathe”

    She shuda had it out wit him, then n there. WHY is she such a pushover? Now he tinx he can jst go back to bein her friend? PREPOSTEROUS! 😮

    Yas needs to let him knw jst how low she tinx of him. Or rather, put me in da story. Il tel zah wut a dipsh*t he is…. Plz mis D, idiot guys lyk dis cant get away scot free. DEY MUST PAY!

Leave a comment